Denis: IRC Picnic

I was in charge of planning the IRC’s summer picnic for our refugee clients and volunteers, staff, and friends of the IRC. As I have never planned an event on such a large scale before, I found it to be a daunting task. With no idea where to begin, I started coming up with a plan for the event. I decided to hold it at Seahurst Park in Burien as it was the most accessible to our clients and had a great area that could hold over one hundred people. The next step was to find donations from local businesses that could support this event. While I was worried at first, local businesses stepped up and donated $420.00 worth of food for the picnic. Needless to say, we had plenty of food for all of the estimated 100 attendees. I can honestly say that I exceeded my expectations and feel proud of my work.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

