Lauren: Building Rapport

During my first two months at Somali Community Services Coalition, I have been building rapport with the youth participants in the After-School Tutoring Program that I coordinate. I have been working really hard to get to know the kids and learn about their Somali culture by asking questions, and it is starting to pay off.  They are getting used to me, and I am getting used to them, and while it is a slow process, I have made a couple of great connections. Yesterday, one participant told me that she wanted to bring me a cake on my birthday!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

